Radiologist, radiologists, ultrasound, radiology, CEUS, sonography, SRU, SRU meeting, consensus
Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join

Member-in-Training Research Award

The Executive Board established the Member-in-Training research award in 2006 to recognize an SRU member, resident or fellow, for excellence in ultrasound-related research. The award is given yearly for the best original research paper submitted to the Research Committee for review. The amount of the award is $1000, and the paper is presented at the annual meeting.

Award Winners

  • 2016 - Jinghui Hu, PhD, University of Calgary,
  • 2015 - Theodora Potretzke, MD, Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, St. Louis, MO, Bleeding Complications after Ultrasound-Guided Percutaneous Biopsy of Subcapsular Liver Masses: A Comparison with Nonsubcapsular Liver Masses and Random Liver Biopsy 
  • 2014 - Patricia Jo, MD, University of Calgary, Calgary, ON, Canada, Nodules in a Cirrhotic Liver: The Significant Contributions of Contrast Enhanced Ultrasound (CEUS)
  • 2013 - Eric May, MD, Mayo College of Medicine, Rochester, MN, Optimal Duplex Ultrasound Criteria in Stented Mesenteric Arteries
  • 2012 - Summit Sawhney, MD, University of Calgary, Alberta Health Services, Can Ultrasound with Contrast-Enhanced Ultrasound Replace the Nonenhanced CT Scan in Patients with Contraindication to CT Contrast Agent Injection?
  • 2011- Manish Dhyani, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Shear Wave Sonoelastography: A New Method to Differentiate Intermediate Stages of Liver Fibrosis
  • 2010 - Daniel T. Ginat, MD, MS, University of Rochester Medical Center, Applying the Society of Radiologists in Ultrasound Criteria for Thyroid Nodule FNA and Utilizing Ultrasound Morphology for Further Reducing the Negative FNA Rate
  • 2009 - Andrej Lyshchik, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Diagnosis of Ovarian Cancer with Quantitiative Color Doppler
  • 2008 - Sachit K. Verma, MD, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Comparison of Sonohysterography and MRI in the Diagnosis of Adenomyosis
  • 2007 - Margarita Revzin, MD, North Shore University Hospital, Diagnostic Criteria for Doppler Evaluation of Renal Stents
  • 2006 - Jared Christenson, MD, University of Rochester Medical Center, Real-Time Sonoelastography Detection of Hepatic Radiofrequency Ablation Lesions in an in-vivo Porcine Model

Distinguished Service Award

In 2007 the Executive Board established the Distinguished Service Award to honor SRU members for outstanding service to the Society and to the field of radiology. The recipient is selected by the Awards Committee, which consists of the three most recent past presidents of the Society, and approved by the Executive Board.

Award Winners

  • 2016 - Barbara S. Hertzberg, MD
  • 2015 - Edward A. Lyons, OC, MD 
  • 2014 - Harvey L. Neiman, MD 
  • 2013 - Christopher R. B. Merritt, MD
  • 2012 - Faye C. Laing, MD
  • 2011 - Alfred B. Kurtz, MD
  • 2010 - Peter H. Arger, MD
  • 2009 - Michael L. Manco-Johnson, MD
  • 2008 - Barry B. Goldberg, MD
  • 2007 - George R. Leopold, MD

Lawrence A. Mack Lifetime Achievement Award (Larry Mack Award)

The Larry Mack Award was established to honor the memory of Dr. Larry Mack and is funded by a memorial fund that receives contributions from SRU members and others. Dr. Mack was a professor of radiology and director of ultrasound at the University of Washington. He died on June 16, 1995, following a long battle with pancreatic cancer. Larry was well known for his original contributions to ultrasound, especially in the areas of musculoskeletal and obstetrical sonography. He was an early and valued member of the SRU and it was his wish that a research award be established to remember him at the annual meeting.

From its inception until 2008, the award was presented to the SRU member who submitted the best paper on clinical ultrasound research. In 2008 the award was renamed the Lawrence A. Mack Lifetime Achievement Award and is now presented to an individual to honor outstanding lifetime achievement in ultrasound research.

Award Winners


  • 2016 - R. Brooke Jeffrey, Jr., MD
  • 2015 - J. William Charboneau, MD 
  • 2014 - Barbara B. Gosink, MD
  • 2013 - Peter L. Cooperberg, MD
  • 2012 - Stephanie R. Wilson, MD
  • 2011 - Jonathan M. Rubin, MD, PhD
  • 2010 - Beryl R. Benacerraf, MD
  • 2009 - Barry B. Goldberg, MD
  • 2008 - Roy A. Filly, MD
  • 2007 - Conventional Ultrasound Exposure Enhances Intratumoral Delivery and Trafficking but not Retention of Doxorubicin in Human Colon Cancer Cells
    Jonathan Kruskal, MD, PhD, principal author
  • 2006 - High Resolution Sonography of the Vas Deferens
    Nirvikar Dahiya MD, principal author
  • 2005 - Are Metastases Really Hypovascular in the Arterial Phase? The Perspective on Contrast Enhanced Ultrasound
    Stephanie R. Wilson, MD, principal author
  • 2004 - The Value of High Intensity Focused Ultrasound to Control Post Biopsy Hemorrhage: Feasibility Study in a Porcine Model
    Vikram S. Dogra, MD, principal author
  • 2003 - Characterization of Linear Streak Artifact with Pulse Inversion Tissue Harmonics in Musculoskeletal Ultrasound
    Jonathan M. Rubin, MD, PhD, principal author
  • 2002 - Fetal Nose Bone Length: A Marker for Down Syndrome in the Mid-Trimester
    Beryl R. Benacerraf, MD, principal author
  • 2001 - Vascular Recruitment Patterns of the Repaired Rotator Cuff
    Ronald S. Adler, MD, PhD, principal author
  • 2000 - Technique and Accuracy of 3D Ultrasound in Neonatal Neurosonography, Michael Manco-Johnson, M.D., principal author

GE Barry Goldberg Educational Excellence Award


Award Winners

  • 2016 - Laurence Needleman, MD

Anna S. Lev-Toaff, MD Award

For teaching and Research in Women's Imaging


Award Winners

  • 2016 - Roya Sohaey, MD



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal